2019 VTCA-VDOT Consultant Forum Agenda

September 11, 2019

2019 VTCA–VDOT Consultant Forum
October 1, 2019
Greater Richmond Convention Center

Development Agenda

8:45 a.m.         Opening Session

  • Welcome – Kevin Bocock, P.E., CCM, Vice President/Transportation Services Leader, MBP, VTCA ECLC Chairman
  • The President’s Message – Ryan Gorman, P.E., DBIA, Vice President, Corman Kokosing; VTCA President, D/B Committee Member
  • VTCA Organization and Legislative Updates – Jeff Southard, Esq., Executive Vice President, VTCA
  • Keynote: JJ White, Chief Engagement Officer/Franchise Owner, Dale Carnegie VA

9:45 a.m.         Break

10:15 a.m.       General Session

  • The Federal Program in VA – Thomas Nelson, P.E., FHWA – Division Administrator, Virginia Division Office, Federal Highway Administration
  • VA Statewide Initiatives – Cathy McGhee, P.E., Acting Director of The Office of Innovation, Secretary’s Office, Director of Research and Innovation
  • VDOT Program
    – Stephen Brich, P.E., Commissioner, VDOT
    – Robert Cary, P.E., L.S., Chief Deputy Commissioner, VDOT
    – Bart Thrasher, P.E., Chief Engineer, VDOT

11:30 a.m.       Networking Lunch

1:00 p.m.         Breakout Session
(Moderator – Mimi Kronisch, P.E., CCM, Partner, RK&K)

D/B Panel – “What Makes a Successful Team?”

  • Ed Stelter, LEED AP, DBIA, Faulconer Construction Co., VTCA Board Member
  • Darell Fischer, P.E., DBIA, Director of Design Build, Rinker Design Associates, P.C., VTCA D/B Committee Member
  • Jon Harman, Senior Vice President, Shirley Contracting Company, LLC,  VTCA Secretary/Treasurer
  • Jerry Mrykalo, P.E., PTOE, Senior Associate, Dewberry, VTCA D/B Committee Chair
  • Jerry Whitlock, P.E., DBIA, D/B Integration Manager, Wagman, VTCA CLC Committee Member
  • John Vicinski, P.E., DBIA, Quality Assurance Manager, Quinn Consulting Services, Inc.

Progressive D/B

  • Shailendra Patel, P.E., DBIA, State Engineer APD, VDOT

Breakout Session II
(Moderator – Wayne Fedora, P.E., Assistant Division Administrator, Virginia Division Office, Federal Highway Administration)


  • Kat Weisner, P.E., NRAEMT, Construction & Contract Administration Engineer, FHWA
  • Ian Millikan, P.E., PMP, DBIA, Assistant State Construction Engineer, VDOT
  • Julia Simo, P.E., e-Construction Program Manager, VDOT

2:30 p.m.         Break

3:00 p.m.         Breakout Session III
(Moderator – Brian McPeters, P.E., Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.)

VDOT Program

  • Location and Design Division, Chris Swanson, P.E., Assistant State Location and Design Engineer
    – Migration to OpenRoads Designer CONNECT Edition
    – UAS Policy and Usage
  • Operations Program, Scott Cowherd, Operations Program Manager/Traveler Information Project Manager
    – Crowd-Source Data
  • Construction Division, Ian Millikan, P.E., PMP, DBIA, Assistant State Construction Engineer
    – PlanGrid/Tablet-Based Construction
    – Pilot Programs
    – Automated Machine Guidance
    – E-Ticketing
  • Structure and Bridge Division, Adam Matteo, P.E., Assistant State Structure and Bridge Engineer
    – Project Estimates for State of Good Repair Projects

Breakout Session IV
(Moderator – Brennan Collier, AICP, Vice President, South Regional Manager, ATCS, P.L.C.)

  • Advanced Technology Usage on VDOT Projects
    I-95 SB CD Lanes & 3rd Rappahannock River Crossing (PlanGrid/Headlight), Robert Ridgell, P.E., DBIA, Fredericksburg Assistant District Construction Engineer;Carter Washington, P.E., Project Manager, Wagman Heavy Civil
    – Benefits of GIS Asset Management on I66 Outside the Beltway for the Concessioner, Max Whitman, P.E., CBI, NCTI, Technical Advisor, Gannett Fleming;Matt Miller, Construction Manager, I-66 Express Mobility Partners;Stu Blankenship, GISP, Vice President, Products & GIS, Geo Decisions
    – 3D Scanning for Asset Inventory, Bridge Clearances, & As-Built Surveys, John Arnold, Geospatial Team Lead, Mobile Mapping, Woolpert

4:30–5:30 p.m.            Reception

All Day

  • 2019 VTCA Transportation Engineering Awards
  • 2019 VTCA James G. Browder, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Awards



Supporting Organizations: